The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Why Weren't We Created Perfect?

Submitted 02-03-2020 under OPINION

If God created us, why didn't he make us as we are today in the first place? Or did He make us perfect and we have piled sin upon sin by not stoning to death people we disagree with?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Advice Do People Ask You For?

Submitted 01-27-2020 under OPINION

As a religious leader, what is the most common problem people seek advice for?

view

A Streetcar Named Desire Is Still Sharp Enough To Cut Bone

Submitted 01-21-2020 under OPINION

Grand Rapids Civic Theatre's production of A Streetcar Named Desire proves that, nearly seventy years after its premiere, the play has lost none of its relevance or ability to shock.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Can You Define Interfaith Dialogue?, part 1

Submitted 01-21-2020 under OPINION

What does it look like to engage in multi- or interfaith dialogue?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Can a Christian engage in "Swinging?"

Submitted 01-13-2020 under OPINION

I’m married to a man who I’m not sure is a Christian. He is adamant about following the works of Jesus by helping the poor and needy. He is also adamant about engaging in the swinging lifestyle.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How Can a Pastor Have the Time to be a Good Preacher?

Submitted 01-06-2020 under OPINION

"... in light of this ‘new’ way of working in a knowledge field, which the ministry of the Word most definitely is, why does the modern multi-tasking pastorate seem engineered to discourage diligence, concentration, excellence, and spiritual depth?

view

Happy New Year from The Rapidian

Submitted 01-03-2020 under OPINION

Community support essential to make 2020 a success

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What to Do if There is an Allegation of Abuse in the Congregation?

Submitted 01-02-2020 under OPINION

RL asks, “How should leaders respond to allegations of abuse in the church?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Preventing Abuse in our Religious Institutions

Submitted 12-27-2019 under OPINION

Rev. Ray asks, “It would be well to have a column on ‘trauma prevention.’ What steps should be taken to prevent abuse in a religious institution?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How Do I Keep Focused?

Submitted 12-16-2019 under OPINION

The constant ping of messages that keep us plugged into work chatter might be doing more harm than good…. But how do we find the time to shut off distractions and do our best work?

view

Browse