The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Gas for a Steal or Stealing Gas?

Submitted 06-13-2022 under OPINION

Question: “What do you have to say to the customers who bought gas for five hours for $.45 a gallon, clearly a mistake, without informing the owner of the station. Or to the people who grumbled at Henry DeHart, the customer who told the owner about mistake?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is Your Messiah the Same as My Messiah?

Submitted 06-06-2022 under OPINION

Thomas W. writes: “I have read about many belief systems and all of them believe in the appearance of some kind of a messiah. Will the messiah represent one particular faith tradition? Could the Messiah that the Jews are waiting on appear from another faith instead?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What If There Were No Second Amendment

Submitted 05-31-2022 under OPINION

If there were no second amendment and your religious tradition was in charge of the country, what laws, if any, would you pass restricting gun ownership?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Makes Music a Universal Language?

Submitted 05-23-2022 under OPINION

A student of one of our panelists, Fred Stella, asks: I’m curious as to why music seems to be universal in religious worship. To the best of my knowledge, there is no religion that does not utilize it in some fashion. I realize this might be speculation, but I’d welcome any thoughts on the subject.

view

The Return of Absurdism

Submitted 05-20-2022 under OPINION

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is Monotheism?

Submitted 05-16-2022 under OPINION

Jim V. asks, “Christianity has the trinity, Jewish mysticism has 10 emanations of the infinite God, Hindu has I don't know how many representations of Brahman. Given this, how do you understand the nature of monotheism?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Why Can't I Sell Parts of My Body?

Submitted 05-09-2022 under OPINION

It's not legal in the USA to sell most body parts. You can, however, sell hair, blood plasma, sperm, and eggs? It's my body. Why can't I sell parts of it if I want to?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Do I Tell My Friend That Her Husband is on Tinder?

Submitted 05-02-2022 under OPINION

Anna F. asks, “I saw my friend’s husband’s profile on a dating site (Tinder). Do I have an obligation to tell my friend?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk - What If There Were No first Amendment?

Submitted 04-19-2022 under OPINION

If there was no first amendment guaranteeing freedom of speech and your religious tradition was in charge of the country, what laws, if any, would you pass restricting different kinds of speech?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: 500th Column: Florida Man vs. Tiger!

Submitted 04-18-2022 under OPINION

A member of a cleaning crew put his arm into the tiger enclosure, apparently either to pet or to feed the tiger. The tiger grabbed his harm. A sheriff’s deputy, responding to the scene, was unable to get the tiger to release the man and therefore shot the tiger to save the man’s life.

view

Browse