The Rapidian

Opinion

Additional Resources Should be Considered to Aid the Houseless as Winter Approaches

Submitted 12-22-2021 under OPINION

As winter approaches and hospitals are over capacity, Grand Rapids needs to consider additional efforts to support the houseless population.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is God the "Grand Puppeteer?", part 1

Submitted 12-20-2021 under OPINION

Jim V. asks, “If God is all-powerful, does that mean that He/She is the “Grand Puppeteer” and brought this pandemic upon us? If so, then why?

view

The Loss of Parents

Submitted 12-15-2021 under OPINION

Lessons learned after becoming an adult orphan

view

Staying Informed on Your City: A Beginner's Guide

Submitted 12-14-2021 under OPINION

While staying up to date on your local news can be difficult, it doesn’t have to be. So, here’s a quick guide on a few things you can do to stay up-to-date on the city of Grand Rapids.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does Your Tradition Require a Certain Set of Beliefs?

Submitted 12-13-2021 under OPINION

How do religious authorities in your tradition set the parameters in terms of what must be believed to be members in good standing. And by that I mean “being on the right side” of God.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How Do We Solve the Problem of Violence?

Submitted 12-06-2021 under OPINION

What needs to happen in order for the violence and corruption we are surrounded by to stop?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Do we Need Blue Roses?

Submitted 11-30-2021 under OPINION

Should we be creating blue roses?

view

Grand Rapids Civic Theatre Stages The Sound Of Music

Submitted 11-24-2021 under OPINION

Over half a century later, The Sound Of Music retains its charms.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: This Thanksgiving, What are You Grateful For?

Submitted 11-22-2021 under OPINION

The Ethics and Religion Talk panel wishes you a Happy Thanksgiving, and responds to the questions, “What are you most thankful for this year?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Are Monkey-Human Hybrid Embryos Kosher?

Submitted 11-17-2021 under OPINION

Colleen writes: “For the first time, U.S. and Chinese scientists have created embryos that are part human, part monkey, in an effort to find new ways to produce organs for transplants. As a faith leader what are the ethical concerns based on your religious tradition?”

view

Browse