The Rapidian

Opinion

Dungeons & Dragons pleases fans at Dog Story Theater

Submitted 07-25-2018 under OPINION

Live Dungeons & Dragon campaign combines imagination, acting, and humor for an engaging evening.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Returning a stolen mug

Submitted 07-23-2018 under OPINION

Kay writes: I work at a facility that serves seniors. A client left a fancy insulated travel coffee mug by accident. The client was upset that he lost it and asked if we had found it. I had seen it on the lost and found shelf, but when I went to get it, it was not there.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Psychological counseling vs. spiritual counseling

Submitted 07-16-2018 under OPINION

A reader asks, A past column addressed the question of clergy engaging in psychological counseling, and the panel was in agreement that clergy may offer spiritual or pastoral counseling, but should not offer psychological therapy unless they are specifically trained and licensed.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is blood sacrifice necessary for atonement?

Submitted 07-09-2018 under OPINION

A reader asks, What steps must I take to fully atone for sin? Is it true that a blood sacrifice is required by the Bible?

view

Blondie: Still atomic, more or less

Submitted 07-03-2018 under OPINION

Blondie brings intermittent power to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk - What does "Image of God" Mean? Part 2

Submitted 07-02-2018 under OPINION

Richard J. asks, What does it mean when theologians say, "we are made in the image of God"? Does it mean we look like God?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What does "Image of God" mean? Part 1

Submitted 06-25-2018 under OPINION

Richard J. asks, What does it mean when theologians say, we are made in the image of God? Does it mean we look like God?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should religious leaders provide therapy?

Submitted 06-18-2018 under OPINION

Our question this week is: Should individuals and families seek therapy from their religious leaders; and conversely, should religious leaders provide therapy?

view

Business usurps public purpose in Residential Rental Application Fee Ordinance

Submitted 06-11-2018 under OPINION

It is important that we stay civically engaged. This is an example of how injustice quietly and swiftly creeps into our municipal code of ordinances.Tomorrow night at 7:00 p.m. this ordinance will be discussed at the Grand Rapids City Commission meeting.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should genetic testing be mandatory before conceiving children?

Submitted 06-11-2018 under OPINION

If a couple is considering having children, should they be ethically obligated to undergo genetic testing, even for conditions that cannot be currently treated?

view

Browse