The Rapidian

Opinion

The Lion King Proves Iconic, Powerful

Submitted 11-22-2019 under OPINION

Twenty-two years after its Broadway debut, Julie Taymor's The Lion King premieres in Grand Rapids.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is Sexual Fantasy the same as Adultery?, part 1

Submitted 11-18-2019 under OPINION

My wife is quite overweight. I do love her. To participate in conjugal union, I have to visualize women other than her. However, I do this to be a good husband. Can’t a guy get a break for making the effort to please his wife?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does God Listen to Prayer?, part 1

Submitted 11-11-2019 under OPINION

Is God really able to hear my prayers and does he really care?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What if the Worship Leader Dresses Gay?, part 2

Submitted 11-04-2019 under OPINION

Jose writes, “I’m a passionate student of the word. I’ve recently encountered a young man in church who leads worship. His attire and mannerism disconcert me. Those who do not know this young man personally will label him as gay.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What if the Worship Leader Dresses Gay?, part 1

Submitted 10-29-2019 under OPINION

Jose writes, “I’m a passionate student of the word. I’ve recently encountered a young man in church who leads worship. His attire and mannerism disconcert me. Those who do not know this young man personally will label him as gay.

view

From rental application to restraining order, Part 2

Submitted 10-25-2019 under OPINION

Part 2: More and more renters share stories of property managers and landlords who hold exceptional power in the face of a housing crisis. Meanwhile, renters have little support as they face structural racism, classism, and the constant threat of losing housing.

view

From rental application to restraining order, Part 1

Submitted 10-25-2019 under OPINION

Part 1: Jaylynne Yancy is one example of local renters who face increased risk and little support as they navigate a housing crisis and property managers who hold an abundance of structural power.

view

Actors’ Theatre Grand Rapids Provides Michigan Premiere of Gloria

Submitted 10-22-2019 under OPINION

Branden Jacobs-Jenkins' play presents a bleak, funny-sad view of modern life.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Help! I Didn't Know About the Potluck!

Submitted 10-21-2019 under OPINION

Saul asks, “There was a potluck today and I brought a lunch because I didn't know about it. Somebody asked me why I didn't grab any food and and I explained what I just described. Is it rude to eat food at a potluck when you haven't brought anything to share?”

view

Firebird Soars

Submitted 10-19-2019 under OPINION

Firebird offers broad view of ballet as art form and demonstrates the strengths of Grand Rapids Ballet.

view

Browse