The Rapidian

Opinion

Maria Bamford brought her masterful comedy to Wealthy Theatre as part of Gilda's LaughFest

Submitted 03-13-2018 under OPINION

Boom goes the dynamite! On Friday, March 10th, Bamford performed two stand-up sets at Wealthy Theatre, as part of LaughFest. I attended the first, which was sold out.

view

GRPS school walkout endorsement hinders, not helps students advocate for gun reform laws

Submitted 03-12-2018 under OPINION

Grand Rapids Public Schools declared its approval for the event on February 22, 2018. However, many of us in GRPS think that the wording of the endorsement shifts the conversation from us students to the administration, depriving us of our voice and diluting the power of our movement.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is there one true religion? Part 1

Submitted 03-12-2018 under OPINION

All of the major religions say ‘Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.’ Jesus said to ‘Love one another and that, of faith, hope and charity, love is the greatest of these.’ So why do they also say that their religion is the ‘one, true religion,’ when they all share the same premise?

view

Discussing what "Out of many, one' means in today's society

Submitted 03-08-2018 under OPINION

Diversity will continue to grow, but it will not destroy us. It is a blessing, not a curse.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does your tradition believe in saints?

Submitted 03-05-2018 under OPINION

I'd like to know the different ways Christians see saints; and I'd also appreciate hearing from non-Christians about their traditions and whether or not they have a concept of sainthood.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What role does celibacy play in your tradition?

Submitted 02-26-2018 under OPINION

I'm curious about how celibacy plays into religion. I do know that Catholic priests, nuns, and monks practice it; but does it play any ‘official’ role in Protestantism?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is the role of clergy?

Submitted 02-20-2018 under OPINION

What are the typical duties of clergy in your tradition who serve a congregation?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What happens to a Secular Humanist Part 1

Submitted 02-12-2018 under OPINION

Does a secular humanist who follows his or her heart and lives in general by the Golden Rule have a chance of seeing Heaven?

view

Support Your Local Businesses: The Pyramid Scheme

Submitted 02-04-2018 under OPINION

Grand Rapids' local business, The Pyramid Scheme, is one of many that focus on bringing together the individuals of the community and supporting local artists/musicians to celebrate creativity and life in the city.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What happens to a Secular Humanist who lives by the Golden Rule?

Submitted 01-30-2018 under OPINION

Does a secular humanist who follows his or her heart and lives in general by the ‘Golden Rule’ have a chance of seeing Heaven?

view

Browse