The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Non-Biblical sources of wisdom

Submitted 10-29-2018 under OPINION

Ryan asks, When making any decision, either on ethics, doctrine, theology, etc, what sources would you explore besides your sacred scriptures?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Alternative Truth?

Submitted 10-22-2018 under OPINION

If our society keeps on accepting various forms of truth or personal versions of truth, what warranties do we have that we will not self-destroy?

view

Michigan Proposal 3 - What you need to know

Submitted 10-19-2018 under OPINION

Michigan Proposal 3, the Voting Policies in State Constitution Initiative, is on the ballot in Michigan as an initiated constitutional amendment on November 6, 2018 (Election Day).

view

United in sisterhood and ancestral strength: Latina women are powerful

Submitted 10-16-2018 under OPINION

On Friday, October 12, 2018, fifty Latina leaders were recognized by the Hispanic Latino Commission of Michigan as the "2018 Top 50 Latinas of Michigan" at the Statewide Hispanic Heritage Month Celebration in Saginaw, MI. To stand among the women named is an honor that humbles me.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Responding to reader feedback

Submitted 10-15-2018 under OPINION

This week, I am departing from the normal format of Ethics and Religion Talk to respond to some reader feedback.

view

Pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet joins Grand Rapids Symphony for one of its greatest concerts ever

Submitted 10-09-2018 under OPINION

Marcelo Lehninger led the Jean-Yves Thibaudet and the Grand Rapids Symphony in one of the finest concerts ever heard in DeVos Performance Hall on Oct. 5-6.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: On which holiday brings the most joy, and which brings the least

Submitted 10-08-2018 under OPINION

What is your favorite holiday on your tradition’s calendar, and why, or what is your least favorite holiday on your tradition’s calendar, and why?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Examining the ethics of eating lab-grown flesh

Submitted 10-01-2018 under OPINION

Is it ethical to consume lab-grown human flesh?

view

Calling all Mamavists!

Submitted 09-28-2018 under OPINION

We have neither adequate political representation at the local, state and national levels nor enough collective wealth to directly influence the political process. What we do have is enough sense to know a lot of policy prevents Michigan families from obtaining basic resources and opportunities.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How does your tradition react to suicide?

Submitted 09-24-2018 under OPINION

Does your tradition condemn a person who died by his or her own hand (committed suicide) in any way, such as burial in a separate section of the cemetery, burial without all of the normal funeral rites, or by refusing to conduct a funeral service at all? Why or why not?

view

Browse