The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does God Listen to Prayer?, part 1

Submitted 11-11-2019 under OPINION

Is God really able to hear my prayers and does he really care?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What if the Worship Leader Dresses Gay?, part 2

Submitted 11-04-2019 under OPINION

Jose writes, “I’m a passionate student of the word. I’ve recently encountered a young man in church who leads worship. His attire and mannerism disconcert me. Those who do not know this young man personally will label him as gay.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What if the Worship Leader Dresses Gay?, part 1

Submitted 10-29-2019 under OPINION

Jose writes, “I’m a passionate student of the word. I’ve recently encountered a young man in church who leads worship. His attire and mannerism disconcert me. Those who do not know this young man personally will label him as gay.

view

From rental application to restraining order, Part 2

Submitted 10-25-2019 under OPINION

Part 2: More and more renters share stories of property managers and landlords who hold exceptional power in the face of a housing crisis. Meanwhile, renters have little support as they face structural racism, classism, and the constant threat of losing housing.

view

From rental application to restraining order, Part 1

Submitted 10-25-2019 under OPINION

Part 1: Jaylynne Yancy is one example of local renters who face increased risk and little support as they navigate a housing crisis and property managers who hold an abundance of structural power.

view

Actors’ Theatre Grand Rapids Provides Michigan Premiere of Gloria

Submitted 10-22-2019 under OPINION

Branden Jacobs-Jenkins' play presents a bleak, funny-sad view of modern life.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Help! I Didn't Know About the Potluck!

Submitted 10-21-2019 under OPINION

Saul asks, “There was a potluck today and I brought a lunch because I didn't know about it. Somebody asked me why I didn't grab any food and and I explained what I just described. Is it rude to eat food at a potluck when you haven't brought anything to share?”

view

Firebird Soars

Submitted 10-19-2019 under OPINION

Firebird offers broad view of ballet as art form and demonstrates the strengths of Grand Rapids Ballet.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How to Handle Difficult Political Conversations

Submitted 10-16-2019 under OPINION

Jason N. asks, “How can I talk to others about climate change, money in politics, women's health, etc., from a faith perspective to people with faith, but a different political perspective?”

view

Fiddler On The Roof Premiere Was Lively, Powerful

Submitted 10-10-2019 under OPINION

Broadway Grand Rapids brought Fiddler On The Roof to Devos Place. The mostly excellent production demonstrated why the musical remains relevant.

view

Browse