The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk - Forgiving oneself

Submitted 12-03-2018 under OPINION

How do I forgive myself for the terrible things I’ve done?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is renting space to Unitarians a defamation of God's name?

Submitted 11-26-2018 under OPINION

To the person who felt compelled to send me an anonymous letter explaining that you are cutting off support to Ahavas Israel because I am profaning the sanctity of God by allowing a church to worship in our building on Sundays: You are a coward.

view

Christmas and Holiday Traditions Around the World at Meijer Gardens ignites holiday spirit

Submitted 11-21-2018 under OPINION

A visit to Meijer Gardens to see the trees is a perfect way to get into the holiday spirit. This year's exhibit is open now until January 6, 2019.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What are you grateful for? Part 2

Submitted 11-19-2018 under OPINION

This week, the Ethics and Religion Talk panel continue to answer the question, ‘What is the one thing in your life, in your community, in the world near or far, for which you are the most grateful?’

view

Finding heavenly sips of chai in Grand Rapids

Submitted 11-13-2018 under OPINION

As the weather changes, chai is my favorite way to warm up. Here are my three favorite places to get chai in Grand Rapids.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What are you grateful for? Part 1

Submitted 11-12-2018 under OPINION

Leading up to Thanksgiving next week, I invited the Ethics and Religion Talk panel to answer the question: ‘In the past year, what is the one thing in your life, in your community, in the world near or far, for which you are the most grateful?’ Here is the first set of responses. More next week!

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does God really hate divorce?

Submitted 11-05-2018 under OPINION

In a previous column, one of the columnists claimed that “God hate divorce.” Is that really the case? Does your tradition believe that there is no scriptural support for ending a bad marriage?

view

Kids Summit alumni brainstorm with WMCAT direction for 2019 event

Submitted 10-30-2018 under OPINION

On Friday, October 26, 2018, the Grand Rapids Neighborhood Summit leadership team received expert advice from a group of Kids Summit alumni about what they valued most during the event. Art, literacy, physical play, laughter and magic, were common threads among those values.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Non-Biblical sources of wisdom

Submitted 10-29-2018 under OPINION

Ryan asks, When making any decision, either on ethics, doctrine, theology, etc, what sources would you explore besides your sacred scriptures?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Alternative Truth?

Submitted 10-22-2018 under OPINION

If our society keeps on accepting various forms of truth or personal versions of truth, what warranties do we have that we will not self-destroy?

view

Browse