The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should religious leaders provide therapy?

Submitted 06-18-2018 under OPINION

Our question this week is: Should individuals and families seek therapy from their religious leaders; and conversely, should religious leaders provide therapy?

view

Business usurps public purpose in Residential Rental Application Fee Ordinance

Submitted 06-11-2018 under OPINION

It is important that we stay civically engaged. This is an example of how injustice quietly and swiftly creeps into our municipal code of ordinances.Tomorrow night at 7:00 p.m. this ordinance will be discussed at the Grand Rapids City Commission meeting.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should genetic testing be mandatory before conceiving children?

Submitted 06-11-2018 under OPINION

If a couple is considering having children, should they be ethically obligated to undergo genetic testing, even for conditions that cannot be currently treated?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Why is God gendered?

Submitted 06-04-2018 under OPINION

Richard J. asks, Why do some religious traditions assign gender to a transcendent divinity?

view

Grand Rapids Asian-Pacific Festival Week, June 4-9, 2018

Submitted 06-04-2018 under OPINION

Following the success of the 2017 Festival and other related events, including the February 2018 Lunar New Year Celebration, the Grand Rapids Asian Festival team is bringing a whole week of Asian-Pacific-focused activities to the City.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is it selfish to enjoy our own resources when others are in need?

Submitted 05-29-2018 under OPINION

Lorri R. asks, How much should we give of our time and money to help the less fortunate or in the pursuit of social justice? At what point is it selfish to use our resources for personal enjoyment when there are others in need?

view

Promote the Vote: A ballot initiative to improve Michigan's voting system

Submitted 05-24-2018 under OPINION

Michigan, once a leader in voting rights, is in desperate need of reforming its voting system. A ballot initiative called Promote the Vote seeks to to amend the Michigan constitution to update our system to make voting more accessible, fair, and secure.

view

Shawmut Hills needs more than great teachers, it needs investment from GRPS

Submitted 05-22-2018 under OPINION

Staff at Shawmut were and are feeling overworked. Inequity has become more glaring as the intensity of needs grow in our community. Families are leaving. With an improved facility and shared Title I dollars, Shawmut Hills will be the vibrant community that it was when I first discovered it.

view

Beethoven's mighty Ninth Symphony, plus world premiere, bring Grand Rapids Symphony's season to thrilling conclusion

Submitted 05-22-2018 under OPINION

The final concert of the Grand Rapids Symphony's first full season under Marcelo Lehninger was all about Beethoven in a big, thrilling way.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What are your requirements for ordination?

Submitted 05-21-2018 under OPINION

Jim V. asks, What are your education and training requirements for ordination?

view

Browse