The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Do we Need Blue Roses?

Submitted 11-30-2021 under OPINION

Should we be creating blue roses?

view

Grand Rapids Civic Theatre Stages The Sound Of Music

Submitted 11-24-2021 under OPINION

Over half a century later, The Sound Of Music retains its charms.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: This Thanksgiving, What are You Grateful For?

Submitted 11-22-2021 under OPINION

The Ethics and Religion Talk panel wishes you a Happy Thanksgiving, and responds to the questions, “What are you most thankful for this year?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Are Monkey-Human Hybrid Embryos Kosher?

Submitted 11-17-2021 under OPINION

Colleen writes: “For the first time, U.S. and Chinese scientists have created embryos that are part human, part monkey, in an effort to find new ways to produce organs for transplants. As a faith leader what are the ethical concerns based on your religious tradition?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does Tolerance Demand Moral Relativism?

Submitted 11-08-2021 under OPINION

Sandra asks, “In an age when everything is relative and tolerance is becoming a demand, isn't it true that our own sense of right and wrong is being slaughtered and our true self is being manipulated?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Who Needs Doctors When You have God?, part 2

Submitted 11-01-2021 under OPINION

Last week, Ethics and Religion Talk responded to a question from John challenging our response to a question on prayer and healing. This week, we share three more responses to John.

view

Opera Grand Rapids Stages Don Giovanni

Submitted 10-27-2021 under OPINION

Despite its themes of lechery, betrayal, and damnation, Opera Grand Rapids' production of Don Giovanni proves light and funny.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Who Needs Doctors When You have God?, part 1

Submitted 10-25-2021 under OPINION

Several months ago, Ethics and Religion Talk responded to a question on prayer and healing. One of our readers, John, responded to that column with his own thoughts on the efficacy of medicine, inviting our panel to respond. He wrote:

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Cost of Religion

Submitted 10-18-2021 under OPINION

Kathleen asks, “There is clearly a cost of adhering to a religious tradition. The question is how much should the economic cost of following one’s religious beliefs be considered in answering questions of ethics or religion.”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Violence and Religious Proselytization

Submitted 10-11-2021 under OPINION

D. Patel asks, “At a UN World Religion Conference, there was discussion on ‘Religious violence and religious proselytization.’ Do you think stopping the practice of religious proselytization will help reduce religious violence?”

view

Browse