The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Does it Mean to be a Part of a Religious Community?, Part 1

Submitted 06-10-2019 under OPINION

This week’s question: What does it mean to be part of a religious community? We present the Christian responses in the column this week. Next week, we present Unitarian, Hindu, and Jewish responses.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How Should We be Inclusive of Persons with Disabilities?

Submitted 06-03-2019 under OPINION

How do religious institutions show themselves to be open to folks with disabilities both visible and not visible?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: May One Choose Service Providers based on Politics?

Submitted 05-28-2019 under OPINION

If a business owner on moral grounds can refuse to provide a service such as baking a cake for or catering a same-sex wedding, should consumers then have the right to know the moral and political belief of the business owner, before the consumer does business with them?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Do I Call Out My Friend's Adultery?

Submitted 05-20-2019 under OPINION

“Is it wrong of me to call out a friend who has been cheating on his wife, who is also my dear friend? I am very angry about his behavior, which he does not seem to regret, but others tell me it is none of my business.”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: When is it OK to Solicit Charity?

Submitted 05-13-2019 under OPINION

I know that a half dozen of my cousins and their families are planning to join them for the holiday and I can't imagine how he will afford it. I was wondering if I ought to explain how desperately he needs help to my cousins, who could easily help, but I don't know if I have the right to do that.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Can Human Beings Be Predestined to Hell?

Submitted 05-06-2019 under OPINION

Sue L. asks, “How can anyone be condemned to Hell or ‘saved’ if God has preordained what that individual will do with their life? Are some people destined to spend eternity in Hell before they are even born?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Why is Scripture so Old?

Submitted 04-29-2019 under OPINION

Ruby D. asks, “Why is it that all the world's scriptures stopped being written centuries ago? Did God run out of things to say? What about issues that weren't around back then? And who made the decision that the entire book(s) had been written, that is to say, are complete and finished?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is the Grace of God?

Submitted 04-22-2019 under OPINION

What is your view of grace? Is the grace of God ever extended to those who have not done works of righteousness?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Can My Car be Cursed?

Submitted 04-15-2019 under OPINION

I think my car is cursed. … Is it possible for objects to be cursed?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Do You Think of Hospice?

Submitted 04-08-2019 under OPINION

What is your faith tradition’s perspective on the use of hospice services?

view

Browse