The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is Twitter Responsible for Speech On Its Platform?

Submitted 06-27-2022 under OPINION

Does Twitter have an ethical obligation to regulate certain expressions of speech on its platform?

view

The Play That Goes Wrong Kills

Submitted 06-20-2022 under OPINION

In Grand Rapids Circle Theatre's production of The Play That Goes Wrong, dusty convention winningly stumbles.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How Do I Know What My Religion Should Be?

Submitted 06-20-2022 under OPINION

Thomas writes, “I was raised Christian but I can't decide what religion to follow. I have read all the belief systems, but I am unsure of what criteria I should use to choose a religion. What advice does your panel have?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Gas for a Steal or Stealing Gas?

Submitted 06-13-2022 under OPINION

Question: “What do you have to say to the customers who bought gas for five hours for $.45 a gallon, clearly a mistake, without informing the owner of the station. Or to the people who grumbled at Henry DeHart, the customer who told the owner about mistake?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is Your Messiah the Same as My Messiah?

Submitted 06-06-2022 under OPINION

Thomas W. writes: “I have read about many belief systems and all of them believe in the appearance of some kind of a messiah. Will the messiah represent one particular faith tradition? Could the Messiah that the Jews are waiting on appear from another faith instead?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What If There Were No Second Amendment

Submitted 05-31-2022 under OPINION

If there were no second amendment and your religious tradition was in charge of the country, what laws, if any, would you pass restricting gun ownership?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Makes Music a Universal Language?

Submitted 05-23-2022 under OPINION

A student of one of our panelists, Fred Stella, asks: I’m curious as to why music seems to be universal in religious worship. To the best of my knowledge, there is no religion that does not utilize it in some fashion. I realize this might be speculation, but I’d welcome any thoughts on the subject.

view

The Return of Absurdism

Submitted 05-20-2022 under OPINION

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is Monotheism?

Submitted 05-16-2022 under OPINION

Jim V. asks, “Christianity has the trinity, Jewish mysticism has 10 emanations of the infinite God, Hindu has I don't know how many representations of Brahman. Given this, how do you understand the nature of monotheism?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Why Can't I Sell Parts of My Body?

Submitted 05-09-2022 under OPINION

It's not legal in the USA to sell most body parts. You can, however, sell hair, blood plasma, sperm, and eggs? It's my body. Why can't I sell parts of it if I want to?

view

Browse