The Rapidian Home

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should I be proselyzed at a funeral?

Submitted 04-15-2024 under OPINION

I have attended many funerals in my time. One thing that I'm frustrated about is the fact that so often, the officiant takes the opportunity to convince the friends and family of the deceased who might not be members of the same religion of the veracity of this particular faith.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Help! My spouse has dementia and I'm lonely!, part 2

Submitted 04-08-2024 under OPINION

My wife has been diagnosed with some type of non-Alzheimer's dementia. Would having a serious relationship with a woman under my circumstances without my wife's knowledge be breaking my wedding vows?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Help! My spouse has dementia and I'm lonely!, part 1

Submitted 04-01-2024 under OPINION

My wife has been diagnosed with some type of non-Alzheimer's dementia. Would having a serious relationship with a woman under my circumstances without my wife's knowledge be breaking my wedding vows?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Would You Boycott a Business for their Support of Politicians or Causes?

Submitted 03-28-2024 under OPINION

Do you advocate boycotting restaurants and other businesses whose owners are supporters of causes you do not support? Does it matter if the business itself attaches its name to the cause and gives money, or if the owners only support the cause in their own name, but not in the name of the business?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does Your Congregation Require a Financial Commitment for membership?

Submitted 03-17-2024 under OPINION

What financial investment (if any) is required to be a member of your congregation/religion?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: When Your Religion Impinges on My Religion

Submitted 03-11-2024 under OPINION

Would you encourage members of your community to do business, or attempt to do business, with businesses who fundamentally disagree with some aspect of their lives?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Frustrates You About Your Religion?

Submitted 03-05-2024 under OPINION

Taking a look at your faith through a critical eye, what about its expression these days frustrates you? If you could address the entire body of your coreligionists, what would you want to say that might improve your religion?

view

In "Disney's Descendants: The Musical," youth choose their own path

Submitted 03-04-2024 under OPINION

"Disney's Descendants: The Musical," based on the 2015 film of the same name, dramatizes the potential of young people to change the world.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Do People Misbelieve about your Religion?

Submitted 03-01-2024 under OPINION

Please offer 3-5 examples of what you surmise many people outside of your faith might believe about you that are either entirely wrong or often taken out of context.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Do You Visit Other Houses of Worship?

Submitted 02-20-2024 under OPINION

Are clergy in your religion allowed to go to the houses of worship of other religions? To be clear, I mean during an actual service of some kind? If so, would you be allowed then to participate on any level, or simply observe?

view

Browse