The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Why is There Evil?

Submitted 04-12-2021 under OPINION

Sandy asks, “Where does evil originate from?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Help! My Supervisor is Evil!

Submitted 04-05-2021 under OPINION

Lisa L. asks, “I have just been fired from my job at a small company. my direct supervisor made my life a living hell and I have a stack of emails and other documentation to prove this. Is it unethical to speak the truth about what happened to me?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How Do You Identify the Messiah?

Submitted 03-29-2021 under OPINION

Joseph P. asks, “I was wondering if any other religions (Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, etc.) are anticipating the appearance of a Messiah and, perhaps even more important, what criteria will they use to verify that the individual claiming to be the Messiah really is the Messiah?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is “Election Fraud” God’s Will?

Submitted 03-22-2021 under OPINION

Dan M. asks, “Should Christians just accept the election outcome as God's will and ignore all the evidence of fraudulent voting, or would doing so be irresponsible acquiescence and failure to hold leaders accountable?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Help! My Husband Wants to Watch Me Have Sex With a Woman!

Submitted 03-15-2021 under OPINION

“Christine” writes: "My husband and I have only been married 7 months and he wants me to have sex with a woman and watch."

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Do Animals Have Souls?

Submitted 03-08-2021 under OPINION

Emily S. writes, “Could the group please respond to the idea that animals have souls and some sort of afterlife.”

view

Mental health disorders and stigma: Crossing the bridge to treatment

Submitted 03-03-2021 under OPINION

Many members of our community live with mental health conditions, but they don't need to live with stigma. City High 10th-grader Rohit Agarwal digs into some common conditions and some of the ways that we can support our friends and family who experience stigma.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is your religion based on Dogma?

Submitted 03-01-2021 under OPINION

Connor writes, “I would appreciate learning what your clergy members think of the word 'Dogma,' and if it describes their religion.”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is the different between Happiness and Joy?

Submitted 02-22-2021 under OPINION

Janet H. asks, “The recent column on happiness/unhappiness prompts a further question: Is it happiness humans need, or is it joy?"

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is Wisdom Literature?

Submitted 02-16-2021 under OPINION

Ted N. asks, “Are there similarities (and differences) in the wisdom literature of the world’s major religions? Can you please explain?”

view

Browse