The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: DNA Privacy and Misuse of Information

Submitted 01-14-2019 under OPINION

Does the potential for misuse of private information make the collection and storing of DNA samples a violation of ethics?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What if Good is Not Good Enough?

Submitted 01-07-2019 under OPINION

This question was submitted at a recent panel on ‘End of Life’ in which I participated: Suppose I do not live a life “good enough” to attain the equivalent to heaven, then where do I go?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: May a Consenting Married Couple Engage in "Swinging?"

Submitted 12-31-2018 under OPINION

how do I reconcile that my wife and I will not be sexually satisfied unless we experience the swinging lifestyle, and how can being sexually active with other human beings be so wrong, if we both agree that we allow it in our marriage?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should Self-Driving Cars be Programmed to Make Moral Decisions?

Submitted 12-27-2018 under OPINION

Should self-driving cars be programmed with a moral decision-making capability? For example, to avoid a head on collision should the car swerve into the crosswalk, possibly killing pedestrians? Who's life is more important – the passengers or the pedestrians?

view

Does the Grand Rapids Police Officers Association contract promote police officer misconduct?

Submitted 12-18-2018 under OPINION

Let’s end this cycle of false concessions and make real changes that matter so that we may affirmatively further police/community relations in Grand Rapids.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does clergy child abuse cover-up affect clergy moral authority? Part 2

Submitted 12-17-2018 under OPINION

Continued...as a member of the clergy what do you think of your profession weighing in on ethical issues [when it seems unable to police itself]?

view

Should teenagers be able to vote?

Submitted 12-12-2018 under OPINION

What are the opinions of teens on politics? What age should our youth have a voice in politics? Students from Kent Innovation High School discuss the issue.

view

Happy Cat Cafe encourages visitors to socialize with cats up for adoption

Submitted 12-11-2018 under OPINION

The Happy Cat Cafe is a place where anyone is able to eat with and be around cats. Customers can pet the cats and also have the option of adopting one.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does the clergy child abuse cover-up affect clergy moral authority?

Submitted 12-10-2018 under OPINION

In recent months we have seen reports from Philadelphia of wide spread clergy sexual abuse of children followed by wide spread cover-up also committed by clergy. As a member of the clergy what do you think of your profession weighing in on ethical issues when it seems unable to police itself?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk - Forgiving oneself

Submitted 12-03-2018 under OPINION

How do I forgive myself for the terrible things I’ve done?

view

Browse