The Rapidian

Opinion

City Manager forum only opportunity for residents to meet candidates

Submitted 01-30-2018 under OPINION

The City Commission and Mayor have narrowed the search to three finalists and will be holding a community forum on Monday, February 5, 2018 at Wealthy Theatre starting at 5:30 p.m. This will be the only opportunity for citizens to meet the candidates and directly voice their questions and concerns.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should I tattoo a do not resuscitate order on my body?

Submitted 01-26-2018 under OPINION

CS asks, Doctors in Miami faced an unusual ethical dilemma when an unconscious, deteriorating patient was brought into the emergency room with the words Do Not Resuscitate across his chest.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is sex in virtual reality cheating? Part 3

Submitted 01-22-2018 under OPINION

I read with interest your recent column regarding whether Virtual Reality pornography is ‘cheating,' James wrote. Couples often wrestled with the issue of the husband's use of porn, whether print or video: did it constitute cheating, a form of adultery?

view

All the Way! Civic Theatre's newest offering is a hit with audiences

Submitted 01-16-2018 under OPINION

The story of passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 comes to life in this play about President Lyndon Baines Johnson and Martin Luther King Jr.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: The case for "NO TALKING" at movies!

Submitted 01-16-2018 under OPINION

Tim asks, I have noticed an increasing amount of talking among patrons at my local movie theater. Why do you think this is happening? And what would you say to your community to support the message, ‘Please do not talk during a movie in a theater?’

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is it ethical to 'spend down' to qualify for Medicaid?

Submitted 01-08-2018 under OPINION

Please discuss the ethics of ‘spending down’ one's assets in order to qualify for Medicaid-funded nursing home care.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is the issue of purity important to your faith?

Submitted 01-02-2018 under OPINION

Miller asks, In what way and why is the issue of purity important to your faith?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should a child have three parents?

Submitted 12-27-2017 under OPINION

The first baby using a provocative new fertilization technique to create babies from the DNA of three people, with the goal of preventing mothers from passing on debilitating genetic diseases to their children, was born in mid-2016.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is sex in virtual reality cheating? Part 2

Submitted 12-18-2017 under OPINION

We continue with John's question, does virtual reality sex constitute cheating?

view

Regulating begging is still bad solution to poverty, public safety concerns

Submitted 12-12-2017 under OPINION

Being poor should not be a crime. Banning panhandling for any amount of time criminalizes poverty and encourage police officers to hassle the poor and homeless.

view

Browse