The Rapidian

Opinion

Dear GRPS - It's Time For A Big Change

Submitted 06-03-2021 under OPINION

This week’s news about no mask requirement for unvaccinated students in the fall is the latest example of chaotic, inequitable, and deeply insulated decision-making. It’s time for a parent advisory subcommittee to bring real accountability to our children’s education system.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What are the Most Important Religious Parables?

Submitted 05-31-2021 under OPINION

Tom and Lea ask, “What are the common parables/morality stories that are found in the scriptures or text of the different religions?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is the "Power of Prayer?", part 2

Submitted 05-24-2021 under OPINION

Mary S. asks, “When we talk about the ‘power of prayer,’ does that really work? Please don't get me wrong. I believe in prayer! I just have questions as to how prayer works. What happens to that person that does not believe in prayer? Does God "work" for them too? Why do we pray?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is the "Power of Prayer?", part 1

Submitted 05-17-2021 under OPINION

Mary S. asks, “When we talk about the ‘power of prayer,’ does that really work? Please don't get me wrong. I believe in prayer! I just have questions as to how prayer works. What happens to that person that does not believe in prayer? Does God "work" for them too? Why do we pray?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Would God get Mad if I Pass Messages from the "Other Side?"

Submitted 05-10-2021 under OPINION

Trisha asks, “Will God send me to hell for being able to hear spirits of people who have passed on to the other side? Would God be mad if I passed those messages to families that have lost someone?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Truth vs. truths

Submitted 05-03-2021 under OPINION

The following short essay comes from the Rev. Sandra Nikkel, head pastor of Conklin Reformed Church:

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does the Bible Forbid Cremation

Submitted 04-26-2021 under OPINION

Reva asks, “What is the Biblical take on being cremated after one dies?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should I get the COVID Vaccination?

Submitted 04-19-2021 under OPINION

RL asks, “Should Christians be vaccinated, or have their children vaccinated, against diseases of the body, or trust solely in the providence of God for life and health?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Why is There Evil?

Submitted 04-12-2021 under OPINION

Sandy asks, “Where does evil originate from?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Help! My Supervisor is Evil!

Submitted 04-05-2021 under OPINION

Lisa L. asks, “I have just been fired from my job at a small company. my direct supervisor made my life a living hell and I have a stack of emails and other documentation to prove this. Is it unethical to speak the truth about what happened to me?

view

Browse