The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: When is it OK to Solicit Charity?

Submitted 05-13-2019 under OPINION

I know that a half dozen of my cousins and their families are planning to join them for the holiday and I can't imagine how he will afford it. I was wondering if I ought to explain how desperately he needs help to my cousins, who could easily help, but I don't know if I have the right to do that.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Can Human Beings Be Predestined to Hell?

Submitted 05-06-2019 under OPINION

Sue L. asks, “How can anyone be condemned to Hell or ‘saved’ if God has preordained what that individual will do with their life? Are some people destined to spend eternity in Hell before they are even born?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Why is Scripture so Old?

Submitted 04-29-2019 under OPINION

Ruby D. asks, “Why is it that all the world's scriptures stopped being written centuries ago? Did God run out of things to say? What about issues that weren't around back then? And who made the decision that the entire book(s) had been written, that is to say, are complete and finished?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is the Grace of God?

Submitted 04-22-2019 under OPINION

What is your view of grace? Is the grace of God ever extended to those who have not done works of righteousness?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Can My Car be Cursed?

Submitted 04-15-2019 under OPINION

I think my car is cursed. … Is it possible for objects to be cursed?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Do You Think of Hospice?

Submitted 04-08-2019 under OPINION

What is your faith tradition’s perspective on the use of hospice services?

view

William Shatner connects at Star Trek II screening

Submitted 04-06-2019 under OPINION

William Shatner told well-honed anecdotes at a DeVos Performance Hall screening of Star Trek II: Wrath of Khan.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk - Afraid of Death

Submitted 04-01-2019 under OPINION

If we believe in heaven, why are we so afraid of dying?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Communication with the Dead

Submitted 03-25-2019 under OPINION

How do your faiths view communications with deceased loved ones? Is this not encouraged or not even possible?

view

Visions and Revisions at the GRAM

Submitted 03-18-2019 under OPINION

Current exhibit is an opportunity to consider what we want in our museum

view

Browse