grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Review

A musical revue you won't want to miss! "Smokey Joe's Cafe" dances onto the HSRT stage!

Submitted 07-04-2015 under NONPROFITS

Leiber and Stoller's, "Smokey Joe's Cafe" features nearly 40 of the greatest songs ever recorded. The hits include, "Jailhouse Rock," "Charlie Brown," "There Goes My Baby," "Stand By Me," and "Spanish Harlem." A musical revue you won't soon forget!

view

A moveable feast of tasty art at "Buffet"

Submitted 06-08-2015 under OPINION

Glitter Milk Gallery's new exhibit features fun food-themed art.

view

Honest to Goodness

Submitted 06-04-2015 under NONPROFITS

Vendor Spotlight: Sheri Wierenga of Dutch Girl Bath and Body brings all natural, homemade products to First Fridays: The Market

view

Streetcar history takes shape in upcoming book

Submitted 05-06-2015 under OPINION

May 10, 2015 is the 150th anniversary of mass transportation in Grands Rapids. Carl Bajema brings the details and history to life in his second book to be published within the next year, "The History of Grand Rapids Street Cars."

view

Design Makes a Difference: "Art of The Lived Experiment" and "Icebreaker" at KCAD's Fed Gallery

Submitted 04-21-2015 under OPINION

Two exhibits at KCAD's Fed Gallery show how good exhibit design makes for an accessible art experience.

view

Accessibility Theater: "Art of the Lived Experiment" at UICA

Submitted 04-17-2015 under OPINION

The UICA managed to make an exhibit about accessibility highly inaccessible.

view

Justice: Bryan Stevenson calls for new metric

Submitted 01-13-2015 under NEWS

Despite severe weather and road hazards, Calvin College's January Series venue was at capacity with people there to hear Bryan Stevenson, "America's young Nelson Mandela," talk about his new book about justice and mercy.

view

Catalyst Radio: Chiaroscuro International Film Series begins Sunday

Submitted 01-09-2015 under NEWS

Five international films exploring the theme “generations” – many never-before shown in theaters in this country -- will be screened beginning on Jan. 11, and continuing through Mar. 8.

view

Hideous delight of paint steals show in "Buying Friends" at UICA

Submitted 01-07-2015 under OPINION

West Michigan native Ryan Kortman's collection of over 80 works by 36 artists brings jarring and memorable work to the UICA. A collector's talk and catalogue signing at UICA is open to the public Friday, January 9 at 7 p.m.

view

(Don't) Follow your passion

Submitted 12-11-2014 under NONPROFITS

We all want to be successful. When we do, we talk about our passions, but is that a good idea? One book from the Grand Rapids Public Library says otherwise.

view