grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

KT Killin' Them: changing the direction of hip hop

Submitted 08-24-2014 under OPINION

Local hip hop artist, Kurtis Burke, known as KT Killin' Them or KT, opens for T-Pain August 26, set out to help change the face of hip hop.

view

Sucker punch: How police control of media in Ferguson affects us all

Submitted 08-14-2014 under OPINION

Journalism has a responsibility to our citizens to build democracy through information, which has the power to encourage involvement and investment. When freedom of the press is threatened, democracy is threatened.

view

Donkey Taqueria serves affordable plates, needs some heat

Submitted 08-06-2014 under OPINION

The food at Donkey may have needed a bit of spice, but the open aired seating area provided a refreshing summer setting.

view

Pat Metheny, Bruce Hornsby hypnotize Meijer Gardens crowd

Submitted 08-01-2014 under OPINION

With a heady mix of songwriting, techinical skills, jazz improvisation and a 42-stringed guitar, Pat Metheny Unity Group and Bruce Hornsby deliver an ethereal performance at Frederick Meijer Gardens.

view

San Chez Café offers unique Spanish inspired dishes, inviting atmosphere

Submitted 08-01-2014 under OPINION

[REVIEW] The San Chez Café on the corner of West Fulton Street and Commerce Avenue has breakfast and lunch options with exceptional service.

view

Don't miss GRAM's "Michigan Modern" exhibition

Submitted 07-31-2014 under OPINION

The Grand Rapids Art Museum's "Michigan Modern: Design that Shaped America" exhibition is a fascinating glimpse into our state's cultural history.

view

Why GR Forward: Preparing for smart, explosive growth takes citizen involvement

Submitted 07-16-2014 under OPINION

As the Grand Rapids community is rapidly evolving, I am excited to help us plan with "Design Thinking" as I serve on the GR Forward Steering Committee.

view

Grandwich 2014 sampled: Rapidian team reveals five favorites

Submitted 07-14-2014 under OPINION

We tried all but two of the Grandwich sandwiches in our quest to find the best of the best. Here we talk about our own favorites, and what we learned along the way.

view

Grandwich 2014 sampled: pretzel-bun-with-pork theme emerges in day four

Submitted 07-13-2014 under OPINION

The final tasting session ends with several messy sandwiches, with a few solid selections but overall a bit disappointing compared to Thursday’s fare.

view

Grandwich 2014 sampled: day three brings quality, high marks, few disappointments

Submitted 07-12-2014 under OPINION

The third day of tasting all of the Grandwiches in one week had us discovering a high favorite, and a favorite day of options overall.

view