grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

In the actual circle with My Brightest Diamond

Submitted 11-14-2014 under OPINION

Something unique - and affirming - happened during soundcheck with My Brightest Diamond (Wealthy Theatre, 11/12.) Lead singer Shara Worden and I had an entire conversation about what she needed different with the mix, without using any words pertaining to "music." It could have been about anything.

view

Founders sells out morning filled with music, beer, breakfast

Submitted 11-10-2014 under OPINION

Grand Rapidians’ love of breakfast and beer was showcased this weekend at Founders' 7th annual Breakfast Stout Breakfast event.

view

"House," ArtPrize Top 20 finalist, on display at Frederik Meijer Gardens until Jan. 4

Submitted 10-20-2014 under OPINION

Osman Kahn's "House," an Artprize entry in the 3-D category and Top 20 finalist, will remain on display at Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park until January 4, 2015.

view

Talking about mental illness

Submitted 10-20-2014 under OPINION

Raising awareness for mental illness starts in our community and our own homes

view

Calling out the Emperor: Awards and Recognition in Grand Rapids

Submitted 10-13-2014 under OPINION

Are awards the best way to recognize impactful work in our community?

view

"Intersections" artist explores layers of meaning in prize-winning piece

Submitted 10-13-2014 under OPINION

Anila Quayyum Agha's work tied for the Juried Grand Prize and took home the Public Vote Grand Prize in this year's ArtPrize. Her study of cultural differences and exclusion play deeply into the meaning of the work.

view

I don't like it: How not to form critical discourse about art

Submitted 10-08-2014 under OPINION

When we talk about art, I have just one rule: you can't just say "I like it" or "I don't like it." Quality art criticism is not about being honest for the enjoyment of honesty alone- it is about helping the viewer and the artist.

view

Battling to get deeper: "Reciprocity" finds favor with public vote

Submitted 10-07-2014 under OPINION

Marc Sijan's work, a contender as one of the public vote finalists, tells the story of his relationship with his father. Why do we- the public, children, parents- connect with this work?

view

Disability is not a struggle: Panel discusses intersections between art, disability, bodies

Submitted 10-05-2014 under OPINION

Panelists Neil Marcus and Petra Kuppers and moderator Chris Smit walked the audience through understanding disability and art, bringing to light the culture of disability in our culture that is hidden in plain sight.

view

Why time based art takes time: Categorical distinctions of criteria for ArtPrize 2014

Submitted 10-03-2014 under OPINION

ArtPrize can become the post-biennial model for large scale art festivals that promote learning and discourse above all else- but it will need to define mutual terms that represent a consensus amongst experts and a caring public, and not leave it to a single judge to define and enforce each year.

view