The Rapidian

Opinion

Taste of Grand Rapids 2011: Ready for More

Submitted 07-27-2011 under OPINION

Eastown neighbor Samantha Dine shares her experience at Taste of Grand Rapids 2011.

view

Randy Marsh gathers jazz community for Sunday night jam

Submitted 07-26-2011 under OPINION

Sunday night Jazz Jam at Hopcat

view

Get your Grandwich (Part I): Narrowing down 10 contenders

Submitted 07-26-2011 under OPINION

Chris Freeman tries out 10 Grandwich competitors in this first installment and breaks it down for sandwich lovers.

view

Why it matters: The power of words and the importance of our stories

Submitted 07-14-2011 under OPINION

We all have stories to tell and information to share: telling our stories well is as important as the information we have to share within them.

view

Overcoming ignorance: the counter-protest against hate speech in Grand Rapids

Submitted 07-13-2011 under OPINION

Westboro Baptist Church has announced their intent to be present for the funeral of former First Lady Betty Ford at Grace Episcopal Church on Thursday, July 14th 2011. The Westboro Baptist Church is k

view

Rodrick Dantzler—Processing what happened as a community

Submitted 07-08-2011 under OPINION

But what tonight will prove, as we gather in small circles, is that we're social creatures who sometimes can't make sense of things, can't see the bigger picture until we do it together.

view

New feature: neighborhood drill down!

Submitted 06-30-2011 under OPINION

A brief overview of one of The Rapidian's newest features: NEIGHBORHOODS. Rapidan reporters, help us tag your ariticle archive with neighborhood level data!

view

Communication as Infrustructure

Submitted 06-23-2011 under OPINION

A new white paper provides community information strategies for nurturing civic engagement.

view

Virginia is for lovers, tire swings are for dreamers, reporting is for the curious

Submitted 06-14-2011 under OPINION

You ask whatever comes to mind, you observe how people express themselves through word choice, inflection, movement, color... Everything becomes language.

view

The Rapidian now accepting intern applicants

Submitted 06-08-2011 under OPINION

The Rapidian is now ready to take on interns, with several kinds of opportunities available for college credit or resume and portfolio building.

view

Browse