The Rapidian

Opinion

On the Eve of Protest; An Open Letter to the City of Grand Rapids

Submitted 10-07-2011 under OPINION

An appeal to the city government of Grand Rapids to treat our fellow citizens with dignity and respect during the upcoming "Occupy Grand Rapids" protest movement

view

Why we do what we do: categorization on The Rapidian

Submitted 10-06-2011 under OPINION

A little bit about the hows and whys of The Rapidian’s revised system of categorizing content,

view

Grand opening for Nourish Organic Market set for Saturday

Submitted 10-06-2011 under OPINION

Nourish Organic Market aims to support Michigan agriculture.

view

Local manufacturing workers react to Austin Bunn's "RUST"

Submitted 10-04-2011 under OPINION

Video interviews with Gary Albrecht formerly of Rowe International, Marty Green of GM and Al Berry of Michigan Works! following the first performance of "RUST" by Austin Bunn.

view

What does this year's Top 10 say about our public?

Submitted 10-03-2011 under OPINION

Our choices for this year's ArtPrize winners reveal some of our culture's problematic preferences.

view

Art and dying cities: What does “Top Ten” really mean?

Submitted 10-03-2011 under OPINION

Art and Dying Cities: two issues Grand Rapids has recently tackled, between the Top Ten lists of ArtPrize and Newsweek. In this article, I ask the question: How do Top Ten lists come to be and what are they really saying?

view

RUST: A sympathetic portrait of post-industrial Michigan

Submitted 10-02-2011 under OPINION

Actors' Theatre presents the premiere of local playwright Austin Bunn's RUST, a play chronicling the impact of General Motor's closing of the Wyoming, Michigan stamping plant in 2008.

view

Wow. That's Bad.

Submitted 09-30-2011 under OPINION

How we can improve ArtPrize: The top ten are out. Naselli talks about curation, location, and four ways that she suggests we might save ArtPrize.

view

How to help the good guys win

Submitted 09-28-2011 under OPINION

Do we vote or not? Listed here are some "good art" criteria to help you save our city from the bad art monsters.

view

Relax: Art Doesn’t Think You’re Dumb

Submitted 09-27-2011 under OPINION

Art loves you.

view

Browse