The Rapidian

Opinion

Life after the Arts Council

Submitted 10-27-2011 under OPINION

A reflection on the impending closure of the Arts Council of Greater Grand Rapids from a former employee: what happened and where do we go from here?

view

See you again

Submitted 10-25-2011 under OPINION

And here's where I'm grateful: When it comes to The Rapidian, I don't need to wait ten years to know what I will remember down the road.

view

The UICA's new Movie Theater is open, here's why you should go...

Submitted 10-23-2011 under OPINION

...In these cinemas, it seems that silence is undertaken voluntarily, nobody tampers with their iPhone or farts or rustles, everybody is fully invested in the vision before them...

view

On mission: Taking ArtPrize from good to great

Submitted 10-22-2011 under OPINION

What is needed for ArtPrize, the nonprofit organization, to be relevant and sustainable in the years to come? How can we deepen the conversation, and what is the role of the mission in that process?

view

Where's the film industry now, Governor Snyder?

Submitted 10-21-2011 under OPINION

The Grand Rapids film industry has been dealt a near fatal blow, due to the new $25 million cap Governor Rick Snyder has put on the film incentives.

view

Looking back: capturing the art and kitsch of fall

Submitted 10-20-2011 under OPINION

We look back on our Picturesque theme this fall - "Art or Kitsch?" - and look for inspiration for our next Picturesque gallery-none if which would be possible without our sponsor, ColorInc ProLab.

view

It's all about the kids

Submitted 10-13-2011 under OPINION

Personal account of working with GRPS youth.

view

Beyond the poll: join the "shop local" conversation

Submitted 10-11-2011 under OPINION

Go beyond this week's poll and join in conversation about what shopping local really means to you.

view

Long live the People's Mic

Submitted 10-11-2011 under OPINION

On the power of the human microphone, as expressed by the collective voicings of Occupy GR

view

Occupy Grand Rapids in context

Submitted 10-08-2011 under OPINION

Born from frustration with corporate greed and control over politics and the excessively increasing disparity between the wealth of 99% of the populace and the 1% elite, this is for protests in Grand Rapids in solidarity with the Occupy Wall St. protests and banking protests across the world.

view

Browse