The Rapidian

Review

Ed Niño's New Leaf

Submitted 12-15-2011 under OPINION

A review of New Leaf, the third and most recent studio album by local rapper Ed Niño.

view

First ever Sass Fest celebrates doing it together

Submitted 11-28-2011 under OPINION

"Learning from one another can be free:" not just a wonderful sentiment from Sass Fest creator Marlee Cook-Parrott, but an apt description of the information workshops and talk sessions that were the most successful facets of the event.

view

GRAM Arts Symposium: Blind spots in "the Michigan perspective"

Submitted 11-18-2011 under OPINION

This past weekend, the Grand Rapids Art Museum brought together artists, scholars, and community leaders to collaboratively define "The Michigan Perspective." A tall order indeed. It appears that several things need to happen before we can clarify this distinct creative viewpoint.

view

Spirits and Wine Author Reads at Schuler Books

Submitted 10-17-2011 under LOCAL LIFE

Grand Rapids native Susan Newhof to read from her book "Spirits and Wine" at Schuler Books.

view

"The Sky is Not Falling," critiqued by Donny

Submitted 10-12-2011 under NONPROFITS

Donny, a members of the GAAH Press Club, visited ArtPrize and wrote about work by Mark Rumsey at Women's City Club and by Michele Brody at UICA.

view

"Metaphorest" critiqued by Leticia M.

Submitted 10-10-2011 under NONPROFITS

Members of the GAAH Press Club visited ArtPrize and wrote about a specific piece.

view

What does this year's Top 10 say about our public?

Submitted 10-03-2011 under OPINION

Our choices for this year's ArtPrize winners reveal some of our culture's problematic preferences.

view

Art and dying cities: What does “Top Ten” really mean?

Submitted 10-03-2011 under OPINION

Art and Dying Cities: two issues Grand Rapids has recently tackled, between the Top Ten lists of ArtPrize and Newsweek. In this article, I ask the question: How do Top Ten lists come to be and what are they really saying?

view

Mother Earth’s gowns

Submitted 10-02-2011 under NONPROFITS

Kendall College ArtPrize exhibit features felt gowns employing earth motifs and innovative approaches to conventional techniques.

view

RUST: A sympathetic portrait of post-industrial Michigan

Submitted 10-02-2011 under OPINION

Actors' Theatre presents the premiere of local playwright Austin Bunn's RUST, a play chronicling the impact of General Motor's closing of the Wyoming, Michigan stamping plant in 2008.

view

Browse