The Rapidian Home

Opinion

Grand opening for Nourish Organic Market set for Saturday

Submitted 10-06-2011 under OPINION

Nourish Organic Market aims to support Michigan agriculture.

view

Local manufacturing workers react to Austin Bunn's "RUST"

Submitted 10-04-2011 under OPINION

Video interviews with Gary Albrecht formerly of Rowe International, Marty Green of GM and Al Berry of Michigan Works! following the first performance of "RUST" by Austin Bunn.

view

What does this year's Top 10 say about our public?

Submitted 10-03-2011 under OPINION

Our choices for this year's ArtPrize winners reveal some of our culture's problematic preferences.

view

Art and dying cities: What does “Top Ten” really mean?

Submitted 10-03-2011 under OPINION

Art and Dying Cities: two issues Grand Rapids has recently tackled, between the Top Ten lists of ArtPrize and Newsweek. In this article, I ask the question: How do Top Ten lists come to be and what are they really saying?

view

RUST: A sympathetic portrait of post-industrial Michigan

Submitted 10-02-2011 under OPINION

Actors' Theatre presents the premiere of local playwright Austin Bunn's RUST, a play chronicling the impact of General Motor's closing of the Wyoming, Michigan stamping plant in 2008.

view

Wow. That's Bad.

Submitted 09-30-2011 under OPINION

How we can improve ArtPrize: The top ten are out. Naselli talks about curation, location, and four ways that she suggests we might save ArtPrize.

view

How to help the good guys win

Submitted 09-28-2011 under OPINION

Do we vote or not? Listed here are some "good art" criteria to help you save our city from the bad art monsters.

view

Relax: Art Doesn’t Think You’re Dumb

Submitted 09-27-2011 under OPINION

Art loves you.

view

New Picturesque gallery open to the public

Submitted 09-27-2011 under OPINION

This fall's Picturesque series, "Art or Kitsch?" is now open for submissions. Rapidian users are encouraged to submit their photos of art, their own artistic photo creations and their captures of kitsch.

view

Whole Notes Benefit Dinner held at Koetsier Greenhouse

Submitted 09-26-2011 under OPINION

A photo essay and report on the Whole Notes benefit dinner, a collaborative effort from local chefs using local foods.

view

Browse