The Rapidian Home

ArtPrize voting heads into Round 2 with 20 public vote finalists

[PHOTOS] This year, the final vote has shifted from a choice of one vote out of 10 options to voting for as many as you want out of a finalist list of 20 entries within four categories.
Underwriting support from:

Full top 20 list:

  • Frits Hoendervanger | Autumn’s Passage | Amway Grand Plaza Hotel | Detroit, MI
  • Armin Mersmann | Gabriella | Amway Grand Plaza Hotel | Midland, MI
  • Sandra Bryant | Into the Autumn Woods | DeVos Place Convention Center | Lynden, WA
  • Gretchyn Lauer | Outcry | DeVos Place Convention Center | Grand Rapids, MI
  • Mark Middleton | Perspective | The B.O.B. | Petoskey, MI
  • Marc Sijan | Reciprocity | Grand Rapids Art Museum | Milwaukee, WI
  • Dan Heffron | Poseidon’s Paradise | The B.O.B. | Manton, MI
  • Dominic Pangborn | Michigan in Motion | DeVos Place Convention Center | Detroit, MI
  • Jilly Barnes | Engulfed in Glass | Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum | Pentwater, MI
  • Kroeze Krew | The Pond | Amway Grand Plaza Hotel | Grand Rapids, MI
  • Nathan Lareau | Urban Tumbleweed | Cathedral Square | Grand Rapids, MI
  • Liz Roberts | Always Nowhere | Grand Rapids Art Museum | Delaware, OH
  • Robert Shangle | Your Move? | Harris Building | Sparta, MI
  • NewD Media | Peralux | Urban Institute for Contemporary Arts | Farmington, MI
  • Carol Roeda | Color Out the Darkness | Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum | Ada, MI

As the public and juried voting tracks run parallel this year, Round 2 of public voting has shifted significantly as well. Now that the top 20 works (five for each category of 2-D, 3-D, Installation and Time-Based) have been revealed, it's time for registered voters to select which of those 20 will move on from finalists to category winners as well as the Grand Prize of $200,000.

In past years, once the Top Ten were announced, a voter selected the single entry they wanted to win, with only one vote available to cast. This year, at 3:00 p.m. Sunday, October 5, voting opens for the top 20 selections, and this time, voting is once again wide open.

"Simplicity is our goal," says Todd Herring, Director of Marketing and Communications. "The open voting structure was the approach with the fewest rules for the voting public, and is consistent with Round 1 voting. Vote for what moves you. Voters may cast as many votes within those 20 finalists, and may- as before- change their minds as often as they want."

Until Thursday, October 9 at 11:59 p.m., that is. Thursday at midnight, choices are final and votes will be tallied, both by the ArtPrize website as well as through an independent auditor, BDO.

Attendees also have a chance to discuss, analyze and even complain about the public's and the jurors' finalists in a two-night event called "Why These Finalists" at The Hub (41 Sheldon Avenue SE). Monday night at 7 p.m., 3D and Time-Based categories are discussed; Tuesday night at 7 p.m., 2D and Installation categories will be considered.

After Thursday's final day to cast votes for the finalists, the winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Friday night. The Awards Ceremony, this year, is in Civic Theatre, limiting seats at the live event to invited artists and guests. The event will also be live broadcast right at Rosa Parks Circle as well as on WOODTV 8 at 8 p.m.


The Rapidian, a program of the 501(c)3 nonprofit Community Media Center, relies on the community’s support to help cover the cost of training reporters and publishing content.

We need your help.

If each of our readers and content creators who values this community platform help support its creation and maintenance, The Rapidian can continue to educate and facilitate a conversation around issues for years to come.

Please support The Rapidian and make a contribution today.

Comments, like all content, are held to The Rapidian standards of civility and open identity as outlined in our Terms of Use and Values Statement. We reserve the right to remove any content that does not hold to these standards.