The Rapidian Home

Leadership Organization Seeks Award Nominations

This dispatch was added by one of our Nonprofit Neighbors. It does not represent the editorial voice of The Rapidian or Community Media Center.

Underwriting support from:

The Center for Community Leadership (CCL), the community leadership program of the Grand Rapids Area Chamber of Commerce, is currently accepting nominations for the 2010 Distinguished Community Trustee (DCT) Award, due October 30, 2009. Each year CCL honors an individual whose service on behalf of the Grand Rapids area embodies its mission to engage and develop an effective and diverse network of community trustees – leaders serving for the betterment of the entire community. Nominees are evaluated based on their impact in the Grand Rapids’ community in leadership skills, community connections, diversity, systems thinking, and trusteeship overall. “This is the 16th year that we will be recognizing a community trustee,” explains Kevin Stotts, CCL Executive Director and Chamber Vice President of Community Leadership. “The award embodies what makes our community great - the extraordinary effort of individuals to make this a better community for everyone.” The selected recipient will join a prestigious list of previous award winners including the Honorable John Logie, John Wheeler, Margaret Sellers-Walker, and Betty Burton Groce. Any leader in the community may be nominated. Nomination forms may be found online at or by contacting CCL at 616.771.0334. Past DCT Recipients: 2009 – Betty Burton Groce 2008 – John Wheeler, Rockford Companies 2007 – Grand Action & Mary Angelo, Garfield Park Neighborhood Association 2006 – Margaret Sellers-Walker, Grand Valley State University 2005 – The Honorable John Logie, Mayor, City of Grand Rapids 2004 – Phil McCorkle (Saint Mary’s Health Care) 2003 – Reverend David P. Baak (GRACE) 2002 – Valerie P. Simmons (Warner Norcross & Judd, LLP) & Steven Heacock (Priority Health) 2001 – Diana Sieger (Grand Rapids Community Foundation) & Arend D. Lubbers (Grand Valley State University) 2000 – Birgit Klohs (The Right Place Program) & Dennis Sturtevant (Dwelling Place) 1999 – Juan Olivarez, Ph.D. (Grand Rapids Community College) 1998 – Bob Woodrick (D & W Food Centers) & Faye Richardson (Steelcase, Inc.) 1997 – Beth (Bandstra) Decker (Washington & Jane Smith Community) 1996 – Grand Rapids Dominicans 1995 – Gene Proctor (D & W Food Centers) 1994 – Rev. George Heartwell (Aquinas College)

The Rapidian, a program of the 501(c)3 nonprofit Community Media Center, relies on the community’s support to help cover the cost of training reporters and publishing content.

We need your help.

If each of our readers and content creators who values this community platform help support its creation and maintenance, The Rapidian can continue to educate and facilitate a conversation around issues for years to come.

Please support The Rapidian and make a contribution today.

Comments, like all content, are held to The Rapidian standards of civility and open identity as outlined in our Terms of Use and Values Statement. We reserve the right to remove any content that does not hold to these standards.