The Rapidian Home

Grand Rapids Community Foundation and CMC volunteers recognized

This dispatch was added by one of our Nonprofit Neighbors. It does not represent the editorial voice of The Rapidian or Community Media Center.

Underwriting support from:
Roberta King, GRCF and Laurie Cirivello, CMC

Roberta King, GRCF and Laurie Cirivello, CMC /GRTV Staff

CMC Outstanding Volunteers (Nate Diedrich, Michael Tuffelmire, Beth Bremer, Maria Gomez, and Don Missad)

CMC Outstanding Volunteers (Nate Diedrich, Michael Tuffelmire, Beth Bremer, Maria Gomez, and Don Missad) /GRTV Staff


On Monday, April 19th, the Grand Rapids Community Foundation was recognized with the Media Access Leadership Award. The award, presented by the Community Media Center, is intended to spotlight groups or organizations who, through their actions, demonstrate support for free and participatory media in local communities. The recognition was presented during the CMC’s annual membership meeting, held in the GRTV studio on Bridge St.
In presenting the award, CMC Board Secretary Victoria Upton remarked that the Community Foundation has done more than talk about their support for citizen generated media, but through spearheading projects like The Rapidian, has clearly demonstrated the belief that diverse and participatory media is crucial to a well functioning community. Longtime advocate of community-based  media efforts, the foundation most recently leveraged and matched a grant from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation to fund the design and launch of The Rapidian.
Roberta King, Vice President of PR and Marketing for the Foundation, was on hand to accept the award. Ms. King continues to participate in, and support The Rapidian through marketing efforts, steering committee participation and as a Rapidian reporter.
In addition to the Media Access Leadership Award, Community Media Center departments spotlighted outstanding volunteers for the year. Each service department selected one volunteer to be honored, who has made a significant contribution. Those recognized included Maria Gomez (GRTV), Don Missad (WYCE), Michael Tuffelmire (The Rapidian), Nate Diedrich (CMC Education Services) and Beth Bremer (Wealthy Theatre).

The Rapidian, a program of the 501(c)3 nonprofit Community Media Center, relies on the community’s support to help cover the cost of training reporters and publishing content.

We need your help.

If each of our readers and content creators who values this community platform help support its creation and maintenance, The Rapidian can continue to educate and facilitate a conversation around issues for years to come.

Please support The Rapidian and make a contribution today.

Comments, like all content, are held to The Rapidian standards of civility and open identity as outlined in our Terms of Use and Values Statement. We reserve the right to remove any content that does not hold to these standards.