The Rapidian Home

Celebrate local nonprofit leaders

This dispatch was added by one of our Nonprofit Neighbors. It does not represent the editorial voice of The Rapidian or Community Media Center.

Redefine "awards" ceremony - celebrate with young-non profit professionals
Underwriting support from:

2012 YNPN Leadership Award Nominees

Advocate:The YNPN Advocate award will go to an individual who is always advocating for their cause. This person is on the street talking about their cause, and raising community-wide awareness of their issue every day.
Maxine Gray – BL2END
Megan Sall – The Right Place
Sarah Scott – Heartside Ministry
Stacy Stout – Grand Rapids Public Schools
Adrienne Wallace – 834 Design & Marketing
DoGooder: The YNPN DoGooder Award will go to an exemplary volunteer. A DoGooder volunteer is one that never quits.
Katie Caralis – Creative Youth Center
Michelle Harris – Metro Health Hospital Foundation
Amy Rotter – Family Promise of Grand Rapids
Emily Shatto – Behrens Hendricks Stuit Insurance
Grantmaking Guru: A YNPN Grantmaking Guru is an individual whose work demonstrates a dedication to thoughtful community investments and meaningful partnerships between West Michigan's nonprofit organizations and foundations.
Nadia Brigham – W.K. Kellogg Foundation
Chana Edmond-Verley – DeVos Family Foundations
Ryan Sparks – Grand Rapids Fire Department
Good-to-Great: YNPN's Good to Great award will go to an individual that has moved an organization or program from good to great. The person that will receive this award will have shown strong initiative toward improving and strengthening a program or service.
Tracie Coffman – Home Repair Services
Shelly Helmus – Access of West Michigan
Christine Lentine – Kid’s Food Basket
Lindsay McHolme – Literacy Center of West Michigan
Katie Timmermans – Artists Creating Together
Edison: YNPN’s Edison Award will go to an innovative and enthusiastic enrolled college student who has shown dedication to the nonprofit sector. The Edison Award honoree exemplifies what it takes to be an up-and-coming Young Nonprofit Professional.
Stacy Blackwell – Grand Valley State University
Callista Cook – YWCA West Central Michigan/Safe Haven Ministries
Margo Martin – Comprehensive Therapy Center
Nicholas Popma – Save India’s Youth
Exemplary Executive: The YNPN Exemplary Executive award will go to an exemplary young nonprofit executive director. This executive director should show strong leadership and initiative in moving their organization forward.
Lis Bokt – The Geek Group
Rachel Hood – WMEAC
Rochelle Manor – BRAINS and BRAINS Foundation
Lori Slager – Creative Youth Center
Resource: The YNPN Resource award will go to an organization that has proven over the year to provide praiseworthy support for young nonprofit professionals. An organization eligible for this award must provide resources, support, and professional development for young nonprofit professionals either working at or as a member of their organization. The 2012 Resource Award Winner is: Social Charity Club of Grand Rapids.
Young Nonprofit Professional of the Year: The Young Nonprofit Professional of the Year award will go to a nonprofit professional who excels in their work, always goes above and beyond for their cause, is always looking for a new way to make a nonprofit service better, and is an overall fabulous young professional.
Nicole Cook – Humane Society of West Michigan
Lucy Dyer Joswick – Family Futures
Jason Madden – Davenport University
Emma Rosauer – Access of West Michigan
Amanda St. Pierre – Grand Rapids Community Foundation

They’re the underdogs, the understated, and the absolutely unstoppable young people who make a living devoted to nonprofit life. These young nonprofit professionals are fiercely devoted to their communities, their workplaces and our future. Whether trying to end childhood hunger, advocating for children or creating more green space, this is not a group to be ignored. For the last four years, the Young Non-Profit Professionals of Greater Grand Rapids celebrates the individuals and organizations shaping our community. Not another boring awards ceremony, the YNPN’s annual leadership awards is an evening of social networking, entertainment and merriment sure to mark your memory.

Get ready to mingle with the rising agents of change in our community at YNPN of Great Grand Rapids unveil the 2012 Leadership Award recipients. Check out the 2012 nominees and come celebrate those you know. The celebration begins at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, November 8, 2012 at Van Andel Institute (333 Bostwick Ave, Grand Rapids, MI 49503); tickets are $30 for individuals or $100 for five.

Register soon before tickets run out:

The Rapidian, a program of the 501(c)3 nonprofit Community Media Center, relies on the community’s support to help cover the cost of training reporters and publishing content.

We need your help.

If each of our readers and content creators who values this community platform help support its creation and maintenance, The Rapidian can continue to educate and facilitate a conversation around issues for years to come.

Please support The Rapidian and make a contribution today.

Comments, like all content, are held to The Rapidian standards of civility and open identity as outlined in our Terms of Use and Values Statement. We reserve the right to remove any content that does not hold to these standards.