The Rapidian Home

Eight young nonprofit leaders to be honored in October

This dispatch was added by one of our Nonprofit Neighbors. It does not represent the editorial voice of The Rapidian or Community Media Center.

Underwriting support from:

Ticket Information

You can purchase tickets to honor these outstanding young professionals at

The Young Nonprofit Professionals Network of Greater Grand Rapids is set to honor seven young nonprofit leaders and one organization that have made outstanding contributions to the local nonprofit community through exemplary leadership, innovation and community involvement. We are proud to present these awards for the second year to the West Michigan community. Nonprofit and community organizations across West Michigan would not be able to do such outstanding work without the support of their amazing employees and volunteers.

The 2010 YNPN Leadership Award Finalists are:


Young Nonprofit Professional of the Year

Jennifer Beahan, Center for Inquiry

Rosalynn Bliss, St. John's Home

Janay Brower, Coalition to End Homelessness

Danielle Hoskins, Southeast YMCA

Shaun Shira, Grand Valley State University, University Development



Heather Kaweck, Friends of Grand Rapids Parks

Jessica Lancioni, Grand Valley State University

Christine Lentine, Kids' Food Basket

Valery Moody, Mental Health Foundation of West Michigan

Ashley Nickels, Grand Valley State University Women's Center


DoGooder Award

Emma Baranowski, Grand Rapids Jaycees

Tiffany Falcom-Ewigleben, Grand Rapids Community College, Academic Service Learning Center 

Janelle Hill, Arbor Circle

Meahgen Pear, Girl Scouts of Michigan Shore to Shore

Tammi Vandenberg, Well House


Edison Award

Jeff Barrett, Heart of West Michigan United Way

Juliet Bennett-Rylah, Rapid Growth

Steve Faber, Friends of Grand Rapids Parks

Jennifer Pider, Michigan Film Festival

Jamiel Robinson, Open Book Project


Exemplary Executive

Thomas Fish, The Motion Initiative

Charisse Mitchell, Center for Women in Transition

Maura Race, Specialized Language Development Center

Elissa Sangalli Hillary, Local First West Michigan

Michele Suchovsky, VSA Michigan


Good to Great

Denise Cheng, Community Media Center

Jordon O'Neil, American Red Cross of Greater Grand Rapids

John Post III, Mental Health Foundation of West Michigan

Austin Roelofs, Kids' Food Basket

Sarah Scott, Heartside Gallery


Grantmaking Guru

Elizabeth Kidd, The Community Foundation of the Holland/Zeeland Area

Kate Luckert Schmid, Grand Rapids Community Foundation

Allison Lugo Knapp, The Grantmaking School, Johnson Center for Philanthropy

Cindy Mathis, Heart of West Michigan United Way

Nicole Notario-Risk, Nonprofit Technical Assistance Fund


Grand Rapids Community Media Center

Grand Rapids Community Foundation

Grantwriters' Roundtable

Volunteer Center at the Heart of West Michigan United Way

Volunteer Management Association


Join us October 28 at 7:00 p.m. at the Grand Rapids Art Museum to honor these outstanding contributors to the West Michigan nonprofit sector. 

You can find more information about the Leadership Awards at

The Rapidian, a program of the 501(c)3 nonprofit Community Media Center, relies on the community’s support to help cover the cost of training reporters and publishing content.

We need your help.

If each of our readers and content creators who values this community platform help support its creation and maintenance, The Rapidian can continue to educate and facilitate a conversation around issues for years to come.

Please support The Rapidian and make a contribution today.

Comments, like all content, are held to The Rapidian standards of civility and open identity as outlined in our Terms of Use and Values Statement. We reserve the right to remove any content that does not hold to these standards.